REGISTER TODAY!

COVID-19 case presentations: Ventilatory Management and Hemodynamic Monitoring in an ECLS/ECMO Center


Start Date:8/13/2020

Start Time: 8:00 AM EDT, 12:00 PM UTC, 2:00 PM CEST, 3:00 PM EEST

Duration:90 minutes

Abstract:

Severe acute respiratory syndrome-Coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) causes a disease termed COVID-19 with symptoms ranging from mild upper airway symptoms to acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS).
Approximately 17 percent of patients with COVID-19 pneumonia require invasive mechanical ventilation. Up to now, there is no convincing evidence for a specific medical therapy for SARS-CoV-2 and the clinical picture is not fully understood. Previous reports suggest that SARS-CoV-2 induces a massive release of cytokines, including interleukin 6 (IL-6), and damages the endothelium of pulmonary vessels. There is ample evidence that perivascular inflammation triggered by various mediators, including IL-6, contributes to pulmonary vascular disease resulting in pulmonary hypertension, which in turn is a major contributor to mortality in ARDS.
The presentation of the webinar will focus on mechanical ventilation and (pulmonary) hemodynamics in critically ill patients with COVID-19.

If you're already registered for the COVID-19 case presentations: Ventilatory Management and Hemodynamic Monitoring in an ECLS/ECMO Center webcast, click below:

ALREADY REGISTERED?

Speakers

Prof. Dr. Philipp Lepper

Saarland University Hospital in Homburg, Germany

Philipp M. Lepper is Associate Professor at the University Hospital of Saarland and Head of the 24-bed ICU of the Dept. of Internal Medicine V. His research interest is focused on ARDS and right heart failure as well as on extracorporeal organ support.

Dr. Mark Konrad

Head of Medical

Getinge

Dr. Miray Kärnekull

Medical Affairs Director – ACT

Getinge

First Name
Last Name
Email Address
Company
Job Title
Country